Return to Headlines

Scotland County Schools 2022 Convocation

Scotland County Schools held their annual Convocation on Wednesday, August 24th. The event was held in the new gymnasium at Scotland High School. Scotland County Superintendent, Dr. Takeda LeGrand welcomed all school, maintenance, transportation and central office teams to the event. State and local dignitaries in attendance were: State Representative, Rev. Dr. Garland Pierce, Scotland County Commissioner, Rev. Darrel “BJ” Gibson, City Councilwoman Ms. Barbara Rogers, University of North Carolina at Pembroke School of Education Assistant Dean, Dr. Lisa Mitchell, Richmond Community College President, Dr. Dale McInnis, Scotland County Schools Board of Education Chair, Rick Singletary, Vice-Chair, Dr. Carolyn Banks, Rev. Chief of Police Mitchell Johnson and Chief Deputy Harper with Scotland County Sheriff’s Department.  Scotland County Schools JROTC students presented the colors and the District Choir sung the Pledge of Allegiance. Student leaders served as program hosts and ushers. Pastor Rev. Jeanne Baucom from First Baptist Church delivered the invocation. The keynote speaker was Mr. Anthony Johnson, former North Carolina Regional Teacher Of the Year, and current Executive for Apple, Inc.


Winners for the 2021-22 “Of the Year” awards included:

Principal: Patrick Peed – Carver Middle

Teacher: Daniel Hersey – Spring Hill Middle

Beginning Teacher: Francis Darnel Graham – Sycamore Lane Elementary

Teacher Assistant: Lisa Alford – Scotland High

Support Staff Personnel: Nurse Angela Nabors – South Johnson Elementary

Bus Driver: James Bethea-SEarCH

Cafeteria Staff Member: Maudie Parsons-Laurel Hill Elementary

Custodian Staff Member: Alex McDonald-Laurel Hill Elementary

Special thanks and recognition to Griffin Nissan of Rockingham, The Ficklin Company and Eric Byrd Insurance for sponsorship, and awards to the 2021-22 “Of the Year” recipients.


Happy “NEW” Year!