Return to Headlines

New District and School Administrators Announced



LAURINBURG, N.C. (June 4, 2024) - Scotland County Schools is pleased to announce a series of new administrative appointments at both the district and school levels. These leaders bring a wealth of experience and a commitment to excellence that will further enhance the educational experience for all our students.  The Board of Education approved these appointments at their June 3 special called meeting.  


District Level Appointments:

LaTonya McLean - Director of Elementary Schools/Principal Coach:

Mrs. McLean has been named Director of Elementary Schools/Principal Coach after serving the district for the past eight years as a principal, most recently as the principal at South Johnson Elementary School.  Mrs McLean has also held the role of assistant principal, mathematics coach, and math teacher.  Not only is she a product of the Scotland County School system, but her entire professional career in education (23 years) has been spent serving the children and families of Scotland County.  


Pam Lewis - Director of Middle Schools/Principal Coach:

Mrs. Lewis will serve as the district’s Director of Middle Schools/Principal Coach.  As a 26-year veteran

in education, Mrs. Lewis has held a myriad of leadership positions including middle school math and science teacher, middle school instructional facilitator, principal intern, and for the past ten years, she’s served as a principal at Washington Park, Sycamore Lane, and the last six as principal at Spring Hill Middle School. Mrs. Lewis is also a proud Scotland County School alum and has served 23 of her 26-year career in the Scotland County School System.


Dr. Kesha Hood - Director of High Schools/Principal Coach:

Dr. Hood has proudly served Scotland County Schools for over 25 years and is a Scotland County Schools alum as well.  She began her teaching career at Laurel Hill Elementary teaching 2nd and 3rd grade.  She’s also held a variety of leadership positions in the district including an assistant principal for seven years serving Laurel Hill Elementary, Scotland High, and Sycamore Lane Middle.  She also was the principal of Scotland Early College High School for four years and now in her seventeenth year in administration, Dr. Hood is the principal at Laurel Hill Elementary School.

School-Level Appointments:

Jeremiah Moore - Principal, Laurel Hill Elementary School:

Mr. Moore is new to the principal position at Laurel Hill Elementary, but he is not new to Scotland County Schools. Not only is Mr. Moore an alum of Scotland Early College High School and Scotland County Schools, but he also began his career in education at Carver Middle School where he taught social studies and science.  From Carver, Mr. Moore went on to serve in a variety of leadership positions in Robeson County including as a curriculum specialist at Purnell Swett High School, summer site coordinator at Union Elementary, and assistant principal at Pembroke Middle School.  Since 2022, Mr. Moore has been the principal at Pembroke Middle.


Dr. Tanya McLean - Principal, South Johnson Elementary School:

Dr. McLean currently serves as the assistant principal at South Johnson Elementary, a position she has held for the past three years.  She has worked in the field of education for 25 years with all but one of those years in Scotland County. In addition to her leadership role as the current assistant principal at South Johnson, Dr. McLean has also served the district as a 2nd, 3rd, and 6th grade reading instructor and a Digital Instructional Facilitator as well.  Dr. McLean is also a proud Scotland County Schools alum.


Lamont Graves - Principal, Spring Hill Middle School:

Mr. Graves’ career in education has spanned over two decades. He began his career with Scotland County Schools in 2014 teaching 8th grade social studies at Carver Middle School.  In 2020, Mr. Graves had the opportunity to take on the leadership role of Assistant Principal at Spring Hill Middle School and has proudly served there since.


Superintendent Dr. Adell Baldwin expressed confidence in the new appointees, stating, "We are thrilled to welcome these talented individuals to our district and school leadership teams. Their expertise, dedication, and genuine love for children will help us provide more and better educational opportunities for our students." 

All new administration appointees will begin their tenure in their new roles on July 1.