« July 2016 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat


What's Happening in Scotland County Schools
July Board of Education Recognitions

During Monday night's regular Board of Education meeting, rising 1st grader at Sycamore Lane, Annie Anderson, and rising 2nd grader at Covington Street, Zoe Broadbelt, led the Pledge of Allegiance. The colors were presented by members of Scotland High School's JROTC Color Guard. SEarCH's 2015-16 Teacher of the Year, Kellan Teasley, was this month's Teacher Feature and I. Ellis Johnson's nurse, Angela Moore, and Spring Hill custodian, John McLean, were presented with Key Player Awards. Congratulations to all!


Summer Meals Program

The Summer Meals Program is in full swing and kids under 18 can eat free! Click here to see which site is closest to you. For additional information, you can contact Anita Starling, SCS Child Nutrition, Child Nutrition Department Assistant Director at 277-4459 x3338.


SCS administrators complete UNC School of Government Program

Richard K. Delaunay, Director of Technology for Scotland County Schools, has successfully graduated from the 2016 Certified Education Chief Technology Officers (CeCTO) Program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Government. The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and MCNC partnered with the UNC School of Government to offer this groundbreaking professional development opportunity.  The CeCTO program is the first education specific program for CTOs and CIOs in the nation and is proud to graduate its 5th annual class. The program is designed for K-12 Chief Technology Officers and Chief Information Officers whose responsibilities require a broad understanding of management, leadership, and enterprise topics. The course is approximately 240 hours in length.

Additionally, Superintendent of Scotland County Schools, Dr. Ron Hargrave, completed the superintendent’s portion of the program entitled “Leaders for the 21st Century”.  It involved two full day sessions at the start and conclusion of the technology directors program, as well as 2 regional meetings (for a total of 20 hours of instruction).  Sessions included information on managing the constantly expanding role for IT within the LEA, protecting the LEA from ever-increasing security threats, and keeping up with the pace of new technology. 

Click here to read more about the program. 

Transportation Appreciation Banquet


During their annual appreciation luncheon on June 17, bus drivers and transportation department staff were recognized for their service. Assistant Superintendent for Auxiliary Services, Larry Johnson, applauded those in attendance for the hard work they do every day and reminded them of what an integral part they play in the success of our students. 'You are the first face from school they see every morning. You set the tone for how our students' day is going to be. You are on the front lines and are responsible for transporting to and from school our community's most valuable asset - our children.' Thank you to all of the Transportation Department staff and congratulations to those employees that were recognized for their exemplary service.

Pictured are (from left to right): 
Eugine Oxendine, Transportation Department Employee of the Year
Julius Dockery, Director of Transportation
Sallie McCoy, Bus Driver of the Year
Queen Esther McRae, Bus Monitor of the Year
SCS Celebrates Its Retirees


On Thursday evening, June 9, Scotland County Schools celebrated the 33 staff members who have retired during the 2015-16 school year. Our retirees have given a combined 728 years of experience and service to the students of Scotland County. Also recognized during the celebration, was the retiree with the most years of service to the Public Schools of North Carolina.  Sponsored by the law firm of Williamson, Dean, Williamson, and Sojka, LuAnn Rhyne, Pre-K Director, was given a special recognition for her 37 years of service.  To all our retirees, our district, our community, and most importantly, the students are forever in your debt. Thank you!

Principal: Greg Batten 25.5 years

Assistant Principal: Terry Franklin 20 years

Central Office: Laura Britt 30 years, Sue Norton 28 years, LuAnn Rhyne 37 years, Laura Beth Urie 30 years

Transportation/Maintenance: Roger Ammons 10 years

I. Ellis Johnson Elementary: Angela Wilcox 14 years

Laurel Hill Elementary: Felisha Livingston 30 years, Diane Weaver 22 years

North Laurinburg Elementary: Cynthia Lide 32 years, Theresa Russell 35 years, Valarie Singletary 21 years

South Scotland Elementary: June Brooks 24 years, Betty Campbell 11 years, Moses Hasty 14 years, 

Sycamore Lane Elementary: Annette Bailey 36 years, Tammy Byrd 31 years, Mitchell Campbell 17.5 years

Wagram Elementary: Rosa Page 28.5 years

Carver Middle: Deborah Hayes 31 years, Karen Ritch 30 years

Spring Hill Middle: Carolyn Banks 25.5 years, Jane McLaurin 32 years, 

Scotland High School: Jackie Amos 30.9 years, Patricia Coble 13.5 years, Verna Grant 13.5 years, Joseph Hornbuckle 5 years, Dale Quick 30 years

SEarCH: Annette Reed 10.5 years

Shaw Academy: Tammy Batten 26 years, Doris Littlejohn 5 years, June Lowery 8 years

June BOE Recognitions

Pledge of Allegiance:
Travis Jackson, Member of the SHS graduating class of 2016

Key Player Awards:
SCS Technology Department - Rick DeLaunay, Mary Collins, Mike Stonecipher, LeJuan Oxendine, Ron Grant, Ronald Dukes, Tracy McGill, Eric Locklear

Judicial Attendance Council - Judge Chris Rhue – District Court Judge – District 16A, MaryNeal Thompson, LPC – Licensed Mental Health Counselor with Scotland Counseling Center, Jennifer Byrd – Social Worker Supervisor – Scotland County DSS, Lt. Anne Griffin – Scotland County Sheriff’s Dept. – School Resource Officer
Spring All Conference Athletes - 
Tennis - Shane Dubbs
Track and Field - Willie Douglas
Golf - Harrison Hartwell, Travis Jackson
Softball - Ashlynn Dial
Soccer - Kaitlin Lewis, Emma Gray Beacham
Baseball - Cross Holfert, Nicholas Charleson, Donta Green, Justin Bowers
June Teacher Feature - Meg Johnson

Each month, we highlight one of our Teachers of the Year during our Board of Education meeting. During tonight's meeting, we recognized the 2015-16 Teacher of the Year at Scotland High School, Meg Johnson. Congratulations Mrs. Johnson!


Site Map | Privacy Policy | View "printer-friendly" page | Login   
Site powered by SchoolFusion.com © 2016 - Educational website content management