« October 2015 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat


  October is National Bullying Prevention Month
During Bullying Prevention Month, we acknowledge that we are stronger together than we are alone, and that there are many ways we can stand together, speak out together, and help each other.  Remember, the end of bullying begins with YOU!
What's Happening in Scotland County Schools
Laurel Hill inducts charter Beta Club members

On Thursday, October 8, with an auditorium full of proud family members, friends, and staff looking on, thirty-three students were inducted into the National Junior Beta Club at Laurel Hill Elementary School. This is the elite academic organization’s inaugural year at Laurel Hill.

The fourth and fifth-grade students that received invitations to participate in the club must have maintained grades of A and/or B in their core academic area for the entire 2014-2015 school year and they must not have had any discipline referrals. Additionally, they must have an exemplary attendance record. To continue their membership in good standing, students must maintain at least an 85 average in all classes, participate in school and community service projects throughout the course of the school year, and regularly attend club meetings.

Principal, Kesha Hood, noted that there is a lot expected from this class of charter members. ‘We are extremely proud of this group of students,’ she said. ‘They are the first Beta Club members ever at Laurel Hill Elementary. They truly are leaders in and out of the classroom and we can’t wait to see what else they achieve!’

Laurel Hill Elementary’s Junior Beta Club inductees are: Lilee Beasley, Jr Blackwell, Carson Buie, Scotty Boone, Valeria Carranza, Jacob Catanzarite, Cameron Cummings, Sydney Edwards, Cheyenne English, Emily Gordon, Jaylee Hunt, Gabriel Jones, Madison Knight, CJ Lewis, Ashlyn Locklear, Faith Locklear, Shanoaha Locklear, Makayla Malpass, Peyton Malpass, Eli McRae, Zauria Moore, Xavier Oxendine, Jarrod Pittman, Roxie Ray, Kali Sikes, Trinity Simmons, Chance Singletary, Mikayla Smith, Dougie Strickland, ToriLynn Stone, Thomas Taylor, Carmen Torres, and Savanna Tunstall.

Sycamore Lane Elementary and I. Ellis Johnson Elementary will have charter induction ceremonies this academic year as well resulting in all schools in the district having a Beta Club that recognizes academic excellence.

To view more photos from the event, click here to visit our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/ScotlandCountySchools.


Prestigious scholarship nominees named

Scotland High School and Scotland Early College High School recently released the names of the students that have been nominated for some of the nation’s most prestigious academic scholarships. 
  • Nominated for the University of North Carolina’s Morehead – Cain Scholarship are Carrie Dean, Chason Hine, and Walter Jackson from Scotland High School and Erin Zhang and Supreet Goraya from SEarCH. 
  • Nominated for the North Carolina State University’s Park Scholarship are James ‘Jeb’ Britt and Lindsey Stone from Scotland High School and Erin Zhang from SEarCH. 
  • Nominated for Levine Scholarship Program at the University of North Carolina – Charlotte are Tyra Cole, Taylor Davis, and Marquisia Wilson from SEarCH and Mimi Pham from Scotland High School.  
  • Nominated for the John Montgomery Belk Scholarship at Davidson College is Scotland High School senior Carrie Dean.
‘As a Scotland County community, we can all be extremely proud of these students and commend them for being nominated,’ said Superintendent Ron Hargrave.  ‘We have had the privilege to witness the greatness develop in them all and it is with great enthusiasm that we look forward to seeing where their dedication towards their academic studies and commitment to community service takes them in the future.’

All of the students will now advance to the next level of the highly competitive nomination process.

Click here to read more about the qualifications for and selection process of these scholarships.

SEarCH interns serve elementary schools

A group of students from Scotland Early College High School have recently had the opportunity to return to elementary school….this time as student interns.  Ten seniors and super-seniors have begun volunteering their time in several of the area elementary schools. 
‘We know our schools can always use volunteers, so we wanted to help out,’ explained SEarCH senior Lidio Rivera.  ‘And you get to work with kids.  What a great feeling!’

Click here to read more. 

Architect program sponsors student technology

Ten Scotland High School students were selected and received free computers on Tuesday through a program called Project BauHow and one lucky scholar will also get the chance to further pursue their interest at an area college this summer.
“There are ten students total in grades nine through eleven,” said Kevin Goins, an instructor at Scotland. “We selected them through the career interest inventory and their interest in drafting and engineering.”  The students receiving the computers and software were: Jada Adams, George Anthony Butler, Tre' Dixon, Shane Dubbs,  Kyle Ferrell, Lawrence Jackson, Daniel Johnson,  Laron Quick, Kayla Simmons, Ariel Yates.
Each student that was gifted a computer system is required to submit a project in May that will be judged by a panel of Scotland staff. The winner will be selected to attend a design camp at North Carolina State University this summer.

Click here to read more in The Laurinburg Exchange.

Site Map | Privacy Policy | View "printer-friendly" page | Login   
Site powered by SchoolFusion.com © 2015 - Educational website content management