• Indian Education Department Contact Information & Duties

    Barbara Adams, Director     badams1@scotland.k12.nc.us   (910) 276-1138 ext. 372

    • Overall operation of the program
    • Writes and oversees Indian Education grant
    • Budget and expenditure approvals
    • Executive parent committee meetings

    Lisa Wilson, Program Coordinator    lwilson@scotland.k12.nc.us   (910) 276-7370 ext. 43031

    • Day to day coordination of the Indian Education program
    • Visit/Monitor staff assigned to schools
    • Review & submit all 506 forms and collect verifying information
    • Regular meetings with Program Director/Tribal Collaborations 
    • Parent Committee meetings 
    • Indian Ed Staff meetings & Professional Development

    Keri Locklear, SHS Lead Teacher    keri.locklear@scotland.k12.nc.us   (910) 276-7370 ext. 43036

    • Assigned to Scotland High School 80% of the day to work with Native American students
    • Attends parent-teacher conferences, attendance & dropout meetings, PLCs, MTSS & other meetings
    • Makes referrals to other staff as needed—social worker, attendance liaison. etc.
    • Transcript review & graduation conferences
    • Regular meetings with students and staff
    • Parent communication concerning students
    • Ensure students know where to get assistance on campus
    • Club Advisor for NASA 
    • NCNAYO representative for Scotland Co. 

    Stephen Locklear, Carver/Laurel Hill Teacher Assistant    stephen.locklear@scotland.k12.nc.us

    • Classroom inclusion and pullouts 
    • Cultural awareness activities
    • Attends parent-teacher conferences, attendance, PLCs, MTSS and other meetings as needed
    • Makes referrals to family support team/other staff as needed
    • NASA club- Co-Advisor
    • Parent communication concerning students
    • Regular meetings with students and staff

    Kendra Locklear, Spring Hill/Wagram Teacher Assistant    kendra.locklear@scotland.k12.nc.us

    • Classroom inclusion and pullouts 
    • Cultural awareness activities
    • Attends parent-teacher conferences, attendance, PLCs, MTSS and other meetings as needed
    • Makes referrals to family support team/other staff as needed
    • NASA club- Co-Advisor
    • Parent communication concerning students
    • Regular meetings with students and staff

    TBA, Sycamore/South Johnson Teacher Assistant    @scotland.k12.nc.us  

    • Classroom inclusion and pullouts 
    • Cultural awareness activities
    • Attends parent-teacher conferences, attendance, PLCs, MTSS and other meetings as needed
    • Makes referrals to family support team/other staff as needed
    • NASA club- Co-Advisor
    • Parent communication concerning students
    • Regular meetings with students and staff

    Jasmine Miller, Administrative Assistant   jmiller@scotland.k2.nc.us   (910) 276-1138 ext. 318

    *This is a brief synopsis of what we do for our Native American students. Our staff works diligently during the day to ensure student needs are met.*