• Scotland County Schools

    Indian Education Department Contact Information

     

    Ms. Barbara Adams, Director badams@scotland.k12.nc.us   (910) 276-1138  ext. 372

    • Overall operation of the program
    • Budget and expenditures approvals
    • Executive parent committee meetings

     

    Mrs. Denise Cooper, Program Coordinator   dcooper@scotland.k12.nc.us   (910) 276-7370    ext. 43031

    • Day to day coordination of Indian Education program
    • Monitor staff assigned to schools
    • Review and submit all 506 forms and call parents for verifying information
    • Regular meetings with Program director—concerns and suggestions
    • Parent Committee meetings

     

    Mrs. Teresa Torgerson, SHS Teacher/NASA Club  ttorgerson@scotland.k12.nc.us   (910) 276-7370     ext. 43247

    • Assigned to Scotland High School 80% of the day to work with Indian children
    • Attendance & dropout meetings and general conferences with parents/students
    • Make referrals to other staff as needed—social worker, attendance liaison, MH worker
    • Graduation conferences for all seniors and make sure they know where to get assistance on campus
    • NASA Club Advisor

     

    Ms. August Chavis, Middle Schools Teacher Assistant   august.chavis@scotland.k12.nc.us  (best contact by email)

    • Classroom inclusion teacher
    • NASA clubs— Co-Advisor
    • Parent communication concerning students
    • Regular meetings with students and staff

     

    Mrs. Kelah Epps, Elementary Schools Teacher Assistant   kepps@scotland.k12.nc.us  (best contact by email)

    • Inclusion and pullouts ( based on principal discretion)
    • Cultural awareness activities

     

    Ms. Aimee Barfield, Administrative Assistant   abarfield@scotland.k2.nc.us   (910) 276-1138 ext. 318

     

    *Note:  This is a brief synopsis of what we do for Indian students.   I.E. staff works diligently during the day to ensure students’ needs are being met.